Craft Fair Report

Report from the Craft Fair event! But first, a few pictures from the process:

camera doesn't do it justice, but it's really shiny
camera doesn’t do it justice, but it’s really shiny
here's one tube
here’s one tube
sign
sign

set up on table
set up on table
labels with my initials
labels with my initials
finished!
finished!

Library Bake Table
Library Bake Table

Several people have asked about how long it takes to make one star. Answer: 1-2 minutes depending on what I’m watching at the moment. I usually have something on Netflix or DramaFever running. So one complete tube takes about 15-20 minutes to put together. I made 101 for this fair, with the intention of selling 100 and saving one for my first sale. Special thanks to my sister for helping with the graphics design for the table sign.

I think I priced it pretty fairly, taking into account the cost of materials plus paying myself minimum wage for labor and accounting for a slight profit and for the DCLSA cut (which benefits staff development). I spent some time volunteering at the table as well so by the time I left, I had sold 27 tubes of lucky stars! There was still another hour of the fair left so I don’t know if any more sales were made. I don’t know if 27% sold is high or low, but it’s not bad for my first time!

I’ve even gotten suggestions to expand. Karen suggested Christmas tree ornaments filled with stars. And Arjun is going to help manage this budding business. Haha, he thinks we should take this online. I’m not sure I can keep up with production if it takes off. I might have to quit my day job! I’ve got a similar idea for Mira’s jewelry business, but that one will take me some time to find the right size paper.

Anyway, I’ll update this post with the final sales report on Monday.


Update!

The numbers are in! They didn’t sell any more in the last hour so it is still 27 tubes (8 sets and 3 singles) at the fair. I sold 3 more sets privately afterwards, bringing the grand total to 36!

If you missed the fair and would still like to purchase or just look at them, contact me! I’ll have them in my office for the next month.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.