Winter Reading List

The number of books I am reading and will be reading over the winter has suddenly gotten really long. I’m having trouble keeping it all straight in my head!

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter

September Book Soup group reading

I’m still only half-way through this one even though we’ve already met and talked about this book. Not a fan, but hoping the end will be better.

Sister of My Heart by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

November Book Soup group reading

Started it, gotta finish it. Again, book group already met but I love stories like this. I didn’t make it to this meeting, but heard it was a fun one.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

December Book Soup group reading

Just got this off interlibrary loan for the December meeting! Not sure I’ll make the meeting, but will read the book anyway.

A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki

Asian American Book Club reading

Got this one off Borrow Direct from UChicago. Haven’t started it yet; it’s sitting on my desk in my office.

Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok

Arjun bought me this book and I’m about 2/3 of the way through. I really like it and my own experiences growing up are really similar to the main character’s.

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin

The second book of the series A Song of Ice and Fire. I’m reading it slowly because the series hasn’t ended yet! There are 5 books so far. I haven’t started watching the HBO series yet, but will have to soon…

The Day of the Jackal by Frederick Forsyth

This one has been sitting on my shelf all summer and I still haven’t read past the first couple of pages. I’ll probably get back to it late this winter. Arjun highly recommended this one.

I am tempted to ask people to refrain from recommending any more, but I was talking to Mark Kozek on Thursday at the Math Dept Fall Party about mathematical fiction. And now I’ve gotta hunt down some of those books, too! Perhaps I’ll add them to the collection first and then worry about reading them…

Leave a Reply

