Math Drives Careers

mathaware2015_icon150This year’s theme for Mathematics Awareness Month is “Math Drives Careers!”
Leave us a comment to this question:

What math class(es) have you taken or are taking that support your career choice?

I’ll start. By the time I finished my third year of undergrad, I knew I wanted to be an academic science librarian. Although it’s hard to see a direct impact, the classes I took shaped the way I think and certainly has shaped the way I get things done. The most difficult class I had was Chris Gole’s Analysis course (read the syllabus here) and I learned how to recreate math. It was a class that taught me how to think and write mathematically, in addition to building skills in teamwork and a drive to continue learning after the course finished. Fun fact: this was the class I first learned how to use LaTeX and now I teach it here. There are several other mathematicians who have inspired me, but I will leave that for another post.

Also, don’t miss out on the first National Math Festival!

“Dedicated to discovering the delight and power of mathematics in everyday life”

Saturday, April 18, 2015 in Washington, DC

Filed under: Math

