LaTeX CV Template

A reader found my blog post (Write Your CV in LaTeX!) on the Kresge Library blog and sent me a request for the template I used for my CV. While I’m delighted to share, I had to spend some time cleaning up my code and making it more “template-like.” I also realized I needed to post the latest version of my CV.

When I went to upload the .tex file for the template, this institutional version of WP would not allow that file type. It also did not allow a .txt file either. So I went in search of a way to make the code into a .pdf file. I experimented with the verbatim package, which did not leave me much options but it did the trick of reproducing the code. I came across the listings package, which is exactly what I needed for syntax coloring. There were few examples on the web for coloring LaTeX code so it took some time to customize it to my liking. Anyway, here is the final code I used:

[important]

documentclass[letterpaper,12pt]{article}

usepackage[margin=.5in]{geometry}
usepackage[T1]{fontenc}
usepackage{bera}
usepackage{xcolor}
usepackage{listings}

lstset{language={[LaTeX]TeX},
breaklines=true,
basicstyle=ttfamily,
texcsstyle=*color{blue}bfseries,
morekeywords={titleformat,titlespacing,color,titlerule,fancyhf,lfoot,rfoot,setlist,hip,href},
keywordstyle=color{blue}bfseries,
commentstyle=color{red}itshape,
stringstyle=rmfamily,
literate=*{{}{{textcolor{red!50!black}{{}}}{1}
{}}{{textcolor{red!50!black}{}}}}{1}
{$}{{textcolor{blue}{$}}}{1}
{[}{{textcolor{red!50!black}{[}}}{1}
{]}{{textcolor{red!50!black}{]}}}{1}
{*}{{textcolor{blue}{*}}}{1}
}

pagestyle{empty}
begin{document}
lstinputlisting{template_CV_v3.tex}
end{document}

[/important]

It produced this PDF of the template, which you can then highlight and copy the text into a .tex file. If you really would rather have the .tex file, send me an email.

You can find other CV templates at the LaTeX Templates website.

Leave a Reply

