Moosilauke: Take 3

Happy 2014! Arjun and I decided to start off the new year with a hike up Mt. Moosilauke. It was a beautiful day — cold, but beautiful. We started out around 7:30 from Lebanon and arrived just before 9am. There were so many cars parked at the trailhead we had to park on the road along with several other cars. This would be our third attempt to summit.

TL;DR we didn’t summit — got closer this time, but still 200 ft away. took us 7.75 hours roundtrip total, covering 9.8 miles.

We were much better prepared for it this time, but alas the summit was too gusty and we had to turn back about 200 feet from the top. It was definitely cold up there, with temperatures down to -50F. My breath froze on my lashes and hair. The snow was quite deep, but a lot of the trail was packed down with so many people having already hiked it. It did help to have microspikes and a ski pole. There was one section I literally had to crawl my way up because it was so steep; and on the same section, I slid my way down.

The sun already set by the time we made it back to the car around 5pm. It was so cold and I couldn’t wait to have a hot bowl of soup somewhere. We went to Worthy Kitchen for dinner but they didn’t have soup that night. Instead I got some fried chicken and Arjun got a meatloaf sandwich, and we finished with creme brulee and a cheesecake cupcake. It was delicious!

I couldn’t even move the next day so I worked from home. Plus, a major snowstorm was brewing and dumped over a foot of snow on the ground. I was doubly glad to be home. The drive into work on Friday wasn’t too bad, though it was my first time driving after a storm. I learned some vital driving lessons on the road that morning.

Leave a Reply

