Multigenerational Workplace

Yesterday I went to an interesting presentation about working with people of different (social) generations. I haven’t quite wrapped my head around the different ideas that were brought up, but one thing I know for sure: I am definitely NOT your typical Gen Y’er. When the presenter was talking about the different defining characteristics of a generation, I felt that I had qualities and values from each of the 3 generations: Baby Boomers, Gen X and Gen Y. Much of what defines a social generation is the major events and the influence of technology that have shaped their lives.

We talked about conflicts that may arise because of this. This part is labeled “what is said in the Treasure Room stays in the Treasure Room” so I won’t say elaborate on what examples were shared, by they involved dress code, language and technology.

I think the most interesting part of the presentation was yet to come. We ran out of time before getting to the piece on creating a generation-friendly workplace. Wikipedia has an interesting article on this –worth reading and further investigation.

Here are a couple articles that address the same issue:

Side note: I’m finally happy with my CV edits! I’ve posted it under the About Me page and wrote a Kresge blogpost about it too.

Leave a Reply

